Llandaff Branch Striking Competition 2017
This year's Llandaff Branch Striking Competitions for the Dennis Perry and Gwyn Lewis Trophies took place at Llanblethian on Saturday 13th May 2017 on what turned out to be a lovely sunny afternoon in The Vale of Glamorgan.

There was a good turnout of towers, particularly in the Call Change Section, which saw a band from Aberavon taking part for the first time; the last time that an Aberavon band entered any competition (in Swansea & Brecon DG) is thought to be in the early 1960s. There was also a fine effort from Merthyr Tydfil's band of younger ringers smile

Ringers were sustained by a running buffet provided by the local ringers, with proceeds going to the Flagpole Fund.

The judges were Jonathan Lewis and Peter Bennett from the Monmouth Branch and they were confident in their placing of the bands in both sections and there didn't seem to be any voices to the contrary from the churchyard pundits, so a job well done!  They adjudged the competitions as follows:

Call Change Section (for the Dennis Perry Memorial Trophy)
In order of ringing:
1. Cowbridge 40.5 faults
2. Aberavon 58
3. South Vale Ringers 57
4. Llantwit Major 48
5. Coity 66
6. Caerphilly 63
7. Merthyr 54.5

Method ringing Section (for the Gwyn Lewis Trophy)
In order of ringing:
1. Cadoxton 58 faults
2. Cardiff 51
3. Llandaff 18
4. Penarth 36.5

Congratulations to the bands from Cowbridge, Llantwit Major, Llandaff and Penarth will go forward to represent the Branch in the inter-Branch competitions in July (date to be confirmed pend the results from the Monmouth Branch competitions on Saturday 20th May 2017 in Blaenavon).

Photos below; click on the image to see larger version...

Photo: St John Baptist, Llanblethian

Photo: Jade from Merthyr Tydfil with Peter Bennett

Photo: Janet Hughes from Llantwit Major with Peter Bennett

Photo: The Cowbridge band with the Judges

Photo: Bob Hardy from Cardiff with Jonathan Lewis

Photo: Martin Batten from Penarth with Jonathan Lewis

Photo: The Llandaff band with the Judges

Pin It
Log in to comment