The 2015 Llandaff Branch 6-Bell Striking Competition was held at St Illtyd’s church, Llantwit Major, on Saturday 9th May 2015. It was a sunny afternoon although quite chilly when the sun went in. It was interesting that throughout the afternoon the ringers were equally split between waiting inside or out. The judges were Matthew and Debbie Turner (Rumney).

After the wonderful tea laid on by the Llantwit Major ringers, Association Master Fred Jackson presented Association Long Service Awards to Barbara and David Jacklin and Val Batten (all from St Augustine’s Penarth). Awards were also to be awarded to several Caerphilly ringers but they had already left. The judges then gave some encouraging feedback before announcing the results. A common thread was that bands could have spent more of the practice time ringing rounds to establish a more regular beat.

Call Change Section (Dennis Perry Trophy):
1st Penarth 22.5 faults
2nd Llantwit Major 32.5 faults
3rd Merthyr 35.5 faults
4th Caerphilly 66 faults
5th Cadoxton 75.5 faults

Method Ringing Section (Gwyn Lewis Trophy):
1st Llandaff Cathedral 28.5 faults
2nd Penarth 35.5 faults
3rd Cardiff St. John’s 54.5 faults
4th Cadoxton 62 faults

Branch Master Yvonne John was pleased to welcome the new members from Aberavon who took part with Cadoxton in the Call Changes competition. Thanks were given to the Llantwit Major ringers for hosting the event and laying on such a wonderful tea. Thanks also went to Yvonne and Branch Secretary Tim Taylor who together organised the smooth running of the afternoon.

The Pitman Trophy Striking Competition (inter-Branch) will be held on Thursday 2nd July at a venue yet to be arranged. Penarth and Llantwit Major will represent the branch in the call change section. Llandaff and Penarth in the method section.

Tim Taylor
Llandaff Branch Secretary

Pin It
Log in to comment