This year's All Wales Striking Competition for the J Arthur Hoare Memorial Trophy was held on Saturday 27th September 2014 on what proved to be a lovely, sunny afternoon at St Edward, Knighton in Powys.  Our host for the afternoon was the Swansea & Brecon Diocesan Guild and it proved to be a most enjoyable and close-run competition, with all four Guilds and Associations ringing very well in both the 6-Bell and the 8-Bell sections.

With little chance for either of our bands to practise together before the competitions The Association Master, Jonathan Lewis, arranged for the Association bands to meet in the morning at St Peter, Glasbury-on-Wye, for an hour's practice.  We then went to The Radnorshire Arms in Presteigne for some pre-competition "contemplation".

The Judge for the afternoon was Mark Pugh from Herefordshire and the Association was represented in the 6-Bell Section by Llandaff Cathedral and and in the 8-Bell Section by a composite band from across the two Dioceses.

Following the competition ringing and Service, officiated by Reverend Canon John Greaves in the presence of the Bishop of Swansea & Brecon, the following results were announced before everyone enjoyed a splendid (and copious!) "ringers' tea":

6-Bell Section (in order of ringing, lower scores better)
1. Swansea & Brecon Guild 30%
2. North Wales Association 27%
3. Llandaff & Monmouth Assocation 17%
4. St David's Guild 24%

8-Bell Section (in order of ringing, lower scores better)
1. Llandaff & Monmouth Association 22%
2. St David's Guild 27%
3. Swansea & Brecon Guild 25%
4. North Wales Association 26%

Overall (total of % marks, lower scores better)
1. Llandaff & Monmouth Association 39%
2. St David's Guild 51%
3. North Wales Association 53%
4. Swansea & Brecon Guild 55%

Very many thanks to Swansea & Brecon Guild for hosting the competition this year and to the ringers of Knighton for their warm welcome and hospitality. The tea was fabulous smiley

Thanks, too, to Paul Johnson of the Swansea & Brecon Guild for allowing the use of his photographs of the winning bands and Trophy presentation below.

Photo: St Peter, Glasbury-on-Wye

Photo: St Edward, Knighton

Photo: Llandaff Cathedral Band (in order of ringing, left to right)

David Moore, Becky Drysdale, Merial Gainsbury, Halisi Drysdale, John Vesey (C), Bob Woodward

Photo: The Association 8-Bell Band (in order of ringing, left to right)

Peter Bennett (C), Andrew John, Becky Drysdale, David Moore, Phil Hopkins, Jonathan Lewis, Julian Parker, John Vesey

Photo: Jonathan Lewis (Association Master) and Bob Woodward (Tower Captain, Llandaff Cathedral)
receiving the J Arthur Hoare Memorial Trophy from Reverend Canon John Greaves

Pin It
Log in to comment